No. 1005
July 17, 2019

Follow UjianNasional



MARCH 20, 2019

(Michelin Motorsport)
arrowup.gifarrowup.gifarrowup.gif  Michelin Motorsport. Editor-in-Chief's Note: Kudos to Michelin Motorsport for pulling off an incredible undertaking at Sebring last weekend. 
The French tire maker was called upon to support four championships, including the FIA World Endurance Championship and IMSA WeatherTech Championship, and 137 of the 140 entries. Michelin responded with a massive 24,000 square foot tent housing 16,000 tires, 55 engineers and motorsport tire specialists, and a 42-person tire mounting center staff. And it rained during the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, too, which compounded the effort. “With 20 different automotive marques, and so many outstanding teams, and drivers it was a great responsibility to provide the tires and technical support to help the teams perform at the highest possible level,” said Matthieu Bonardel, Michelin director of motorsport. “Sebring is the birthplace of American endurance racing and a technically demanding circuit. The tremendous number of fans provided us the opportunity to engage with them and share their passion for motorsport. They inspired everyone to perform at the highest possible level every lap.” By the end of Saturday’s 67thMobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, Michelin teams had recorded 30,803 laps, or more than 127,234 miles, on the fast and notoriously rough 3.74 mile, 17-turn Florida circuit throughout the weekend in a wide range of conditions. The resulting data and insights are invaluable in the development of future products, according to Michelin. Racing enthusiasts don't think much about tires per se, but suffice to say the major races we all enjoy couldn't happen without dedicated suppliers like Michelin. A sincere "thank you" for the incredible effort. -PMD
Felipe Nasr, Pipo Derani and Eric Curran drove the No. 31 Action Express Racing Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R/Michelin to the overall victory in the IMSA Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Advance Auto Parts. Renger van der Zande, Matthieu Vaxiviere and Jordan Taylor (No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R/Michelin) finished second, and Joao Barbosa, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley No. 5 Action Express Racing Mustang Sampling Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R/Michelin) completed a sweep by the Cadillac-branded GM Racing machines. The top three finishers combined to lead 334 of the 348 race laps; the 348-lap count tied the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring distance record.
Nick Tandy, Patrick Pilet and Fred Makowiecki (No. 911 Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR/Michelin) overcame an early race deficit to take the lead from Ford in the final hour of the race to win the GTLM class. This trio has now won this race in back-to-back years. Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais (No. 66 Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT/Michelin) finished second, and Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia and Mike Rockenfeller (No. 3 Corvette Racing Chevrolet Corvette C7.R/Michelin) finished third. 
Lamborghini went 1-2 in the GT Daytona class. Rik Breukers, Mirko Bortolotti and Rolf Ineichen (No. 11 GRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo/Michelin) won, and John Potter, Andy Lally and Spencer Pumpelly (No. 44 Magnus Racing Lamborghini/Michelin) finished second. Bortolotti held off Lally at the finish. Lamborghini has swept both the Rolex 24 At Daytona and Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring for a second consecutive year. Toni Vilander, Cooper MacNeil and Jeff Westphal 
(No. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3/Michelin) completed the podium.
(Scott R. LePage/LAT Images)
Kyle Masson, Cameron Cassels and Andrew Evans (No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports Oreca LMP2/Michelin) won the LMP2 class.
Friday evening’s 1,000 Miles of Sebring was the sixth round of the 2018/2019 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC), which ran from 4pm local time until midnight. The two Toyota TS050-Hybrids followed up their domination of qualifying on Thursday evening (when pole position was secured by Fernando Alonso, a two-time Formula 1 world champion with Michelin, the 2018 Le Mans winner and winner of this year’s Rolex 24 at Daytona) with a one-two finish on Saturday evening. First past the flag was Alonso, Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima (No. 8 Toyota Gazoo Racing Toyota TS050/Michelin), followed by the No. 7 sister car of Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez. Brendon Hartley, Vitaly Petrov and Mikhail Aleshin (No.11 SMP Racing BR Engineering BR1) finished third. Will Stevens, David Heinemeier Hansson and Jordon King won LMP2 for Jackie Chan DC Racing. 
Christian Ried, Julien Andlauer and Matt Campbell (No. 77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR/Michelin) won LM GTE Am in the 1,000 miles of Sebring.
(BBC/Getty Images)
Valtteri Bottas (No. 77 Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport) dominated the season-opening Australian Grand Prix after overtaking world champion teammate Lewis Hamilton 
(No. 44 Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport) at the start. Hamilton was sluggish off the line from pole position, and then had to concentrate on holding off Max Verstappen (No. 33 Aston Martin Red Bull Racing) for second place. Verstappen had passed Sebastian Vettel (No. 5 Scuderia Ferrari) for third. The weekend was marked by the mourning of Charlie Whiting, one of the most influential people in the sport. Whiting, who was 66, was due to officiate this weekend's race. He was the official race starter and oversaw all rules matters in F1. Bottas dedicated the win to Whiting: "Thank you Charlie. This win is for Charlie and all his work in F1. He has done massive amounts, so thanks from all us drivers."
(Robert Laberge/Getty Images)
Kyle Busch (No. 18 Joe Gibbs INTERSTATE BATTERIES Toyota Camry) recovered from a pit road speeding penalty to win the 
Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Auto Club 400 at Auto Club Speedway on Sunday. Joey Logano (No. 22 Team Penske AAA Southern California Ford Mustang) finished second, 2.354 seconds behind Busch. It was Busch's 53rd win at NASCAR's top level and his second straight win this season; he led 134 of 200 laps. It was also his 200th win across all NASCAR series, including 53 victories in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series and 94 in the NASCAR Xfinity Series — both records. “It’s an amazing opportunity to drive for Joe Gibbs," Busch said. "I cherish every minute of it, love it always. Just wish that we could keep it going, keep it going like this, running strong, running well, and winning these races.” Busch’s crew chief, Adam Stevens helped put the milestone in perspective. “Two hundred is just another number,” Stevens said. “He was going to get there — it was inevitable. But it’s an honor to be the guy on the pit box when he does it.” Brad Keselowski (No. 2 Team Penske WURTH Ford Mustang) finished third. 

шторы в гостиную в современном стиле